martnanax.blogg.se

Softraid macsales
Softraid macsales








  1. SOFTRAID MACSALES PRO
  2. SOFTRAID MACSALES MAC

SOFTRAID MACSALES PRO

All my other drives were spinning rust drives, at least one of which was coming to the end of its life, as I was getting reminders from Tech Tool Pro that there were too many bad blocks. What it showed is that the only SSDs I had were my Angelbird boot drive and my Crucial 512GB SSD backup boot drive. I then did a review of all my drives, what was on each of them, what I was using them for and how long I had them for.

SOFTRAID MACSALES MAC

So the eSATA chassis would have to go and I would need to replace it with something I could connect directly to the Mac mini, via USB-c, which meant it could be either Thunderbolt 3 or USB-3. I did look at some esata adaptors or converting the unit to Thunderbolt or USB but following extensive research, I was not confident it would all work reliably. My first idea was to retain the 5 slot drive bay, after all, it was working fine, but the problem is that it depended on having an eSATA card in a PCIe slot, which I wouldn’t have in the Mac mini. There had been more drives in here in previous iterations of my set up but several rationalisations had slimmed down the number of drives in this chassis. This was to provide a copy of the previous version of the drive when I undertook an OS upgrade. SSD Backup Drive - This was a 1TB spinning rust drive split into two partitions so that I had a further backup of my boot drives. Then I had an external eSATA connected 5 slot drive bay, which was home for some more drives.īackup Drive 8TB - This is where I put safety copies of audio and video projects Storage 2 3TB - This drive started out as the drives on which my sound effects library and samples were kept, but it also became where all my video projects were kept tooĬrucial 512GB SSD which was a clone of the Angelbird so I always had a working clone of my boot drive in case it failed, a practice I developed when all my drives were spinning rust drives. Work Drive 4TB - This is where my working Pro Tools Projects reside In my cheese-grater, I had 5 drives, 4 in the bays in the Mac Pro and one in the spare slot under the DVD drive (remember those). In replacing my Mac Pro 5,1 for a Mac mini 2018, one of the challenges I needed to resolve was what to do with all my hard drives.










Softraid macsales